Artmix

A new edition of Artmix, the exchange program with Luxembourg, has started! The exhibition by Noé Duboutay, Darja Linder, Hannah Mevis and Sophia Löckenhoff will be on display at the Stadtgalerie from May 2 to May 26, 2024.

GOSSIP - MATTERS HARD TO GRASP

Speisen auf einem Tisch - Hannah Mevis und Noé Duboutay

Speisen auf einem Tisch - Hannah Mevis und Noé Duboutay

Speisen auf einem Tisch - Hannah Mevis und Noé Duboutay

Artmix-twin-exhibition by Noé Duboutay (he/they), Darja Linder (she/her), Sophia Lökenhoff (they/them), and Hannah Mevis (she/her)

Until the 14th century, “I’m going out with my gossip” was a common declaration used by predominantly assigned females at birth and femme identifying individuals to describe that they were meeting up with trusted others. In the context of that time, “gossip” described not only friends, but generally people who shared wisdom(s). The gossips were also responsible for passing on stories orally and thus made an important contribution to the well-being of the community.

With the rise of capitalism and the associated degradation of womxn’s knowledge, the meaning of the word changed towards informal chatter. Today, the term still embodies the negative connotation and the embedded devaluation of “femme” knowledge systems and labor.

In the spirit of the original meaning, the four artmix-artists Noé Duboutay (*1995 in Luxembourg; lives between Berlin and Luxembourg), Darja Linder (*1992 in Thälmanskij/Russia; lives and works in Saarbrücken), Sophia Lökenhoff (*1989 in Essen/Germany; lives and works in Berlin) and Hannah Mevis (*1989 in Heidelberg/Germany; lives and works between Saarbrücken and Brussels) are developing a twin-exhibition centered on the interweaving of memories and the political act of exchanging knowledge:

We are artists, friends, and trusted gossips who engage with personal backgrounds, experiences, physicalities, and curiosities. We do this to counter the greed of toxic power structures with values that lie beyond the patriarchy. In the communal refusal to solidify, we offer multiple counter-positions that let us move towards the wisdom of forgotten stories. We invite you to witness our gathering(s) to immerse yourself in worlds of matters that are hard to grasp."

Openings of the twin-exhibitions:
2. May 2024 Stadtgalerie Saarbrücken (until 26. May)
3. May 2024 Cerlé City Luxemburg (until 30. June)

Artmix is an exchange program between the cities of Saarbrücken and Luxembourg. The cooperation partners of the project are the Stadtgalerie Saarbrücken and from Luxembourg the Cercle Cité, Neimënster, as well as Casino Display. For the current edition, the jury decided in favor of the artists Noé Duboutay (he/they) for Luxembourg and Darja Linder (she/her) for Saarbrücken. Noé decided to include Sophia Lökenhoff (they/them) in the team and Darja selected Hannah Mevis (she/her).

More about Artmix

From February 19 to March 11, four artists will be guests at the Stadtgalerie as part of the Artmix exchange program with Luxembourg. For this edition, the jury has chosen Noé Duboutay (they/he) (LUX) and Darja Linder (DE). The two selected artists were each allowed to invite another artist. Noé Duboutay has chosen Sophia Lökenhoff (they/them) and Darja Linder is taking Hannah Mevis into the new Artmix artist team.

Together, the group will develop an exhibition during their joint stay in the form of a residency in Luxembourg and Saarbrücken. Setting up an open studio or workshop complements the project. During the exchange, the participants will work together for three weeks in Luxembourg (Kulturzentrum Abtei Neumünster) in December 2023 and now for three weeks in Saarbrücken (Stadtgalerie Saarbrücken) in February/March 2024.

The exhibitions will take place from May 2 to May 26, 2024 in the Stadtgalerie Saarbrücken and from May 3 to June 30, 2024 in the Cercle Cité in Luxembourg. Casino Display is a network partner.

After the Artmix project was temporarily suspended due to the pandemic (11th edition: 2019), it will be back in Luxembourg in 2023 with new partners.

The project, which has been running since 2005, connects artists from the Greater Region.The aim is to promote regional networking between neighboring art scenes and various disciplines.The aim is to facilitate new forms of collaboration and professionalization.Artmix is an exchange program between the cities of Saarbrücken and Luxembourg.The cooperation partners of the project are the Stadtgalerie Saarbrücken and from Luxembourg the Cercle Cité, Neimënster, as well as Casino Display.

Jury statement

At the jury meeting on October 23 2023 at the Cercle Cité, a six-member jury decided on this year's participants in the Artmix program: one artistic position each from Luxembourg and Saarbrücken.

The jury was made up of representatives of the art and culture scene from Luxembourg and Saarbrücken:

  • Bob Seyler, neimënster/Luxembourg
  • Alexandre Bugnet, neimënster/Luxembourg
  • Charles Rouleau, Casino Display/Luxembourg
  • Anastasia Chaguidouline, Artistic Director Cercle Cité/Luxembourg
  • Leo Scheidt, freelance curator/Saarbrücken
  • Katharina Ritter, M.A., Artistic Director Stadtgalerie Saarbrücken

After an extensive discussion, the jury decided in favor of Noé Duboutay (they/he) (LUX) and Darja Linder (DE). The two selected artists may each invite one other artist. Noé Duboutay's choice is Sophia Lökenhoff (they/them) and Darja Linder takes Hannah Mevis into the new Artmix artist team.

The aim of the jury was to select a group that would work together on an exhibition project with press and public relations work, documentation and an educational program. The establishment of an open studio or workshops during the residencies in Luxembourg and Saarbrücken will complement the project. This will enable new forms of collaboration and professionalization and promote regional networking between neighbouring art scenes and various specialist areas.

In their application, the selected participants responded to the open Artmix concept in a very convincing way in terms of content. The two artists work with very different media. At the same time, not only do their expressive and contemporary aesthetics resonate with each other, but also the themes they address, such as identity and social norms. 

All participants are currently at the beginning of their careers and can further professionalize themselves through the Artmix project. According to the jury, the very different artistic positions are convincing due to their examination of current socio-political issues and their aesthetic dimensions.

Noé Duboutay

Selbstporträt Noé Duboutay - Noé Duboutay

Selbstporträt Noé Duboutay - Noé Duboutay

Selbstporträt Noé Duboutay - Noé Duboutay

Noé Duboutay (*1995 in Luxembourg) is a performance artist and author living in Berlin and Luxembourg. He performs with his body and voice, makes installations and props and writes scripts, poems and prose. He explores the entanglements of human identities with non-human entities and materialities. Noé Duboutay's artistic practice moves in the field of tension between bodily experiences and forms of embodiment that question what makes a body legible. Through fictional and autobiographical worlds of writing and movement, Noé Duboutay creates ways to find queer connections, allies and affinities and creates space for fragile uncertainty and softness.

Sophia Lökenhoff

Sophia Lökenhoff - Lexi Schnäbele

Sophia Lökenhoff - Lexi Schnäbele

Sophia Lökenhoff - Lexi Schnäbele

Noé Duboutay has selected Sophia Lökenhoff. Sophia Lökenhoff (*1989 in Essen/Germany), a transdisciplinary performance artist from Berlin, creates immersive performances that deal with bodies, time dimensions, spaces, objects, sounds and their relationship to the invisible. Since 2020, Sophia Lökenhoff has been working on an ongoing performance cycle that explores the transitions of a fabulated figure called IAGA. IAGA coexists in sympoiesis with and through many bodies, exploring the remnants of the triple femme deities in contemporary knowledge systems. Special focus is placed on the regeneration of the magical sphere as queer, gender-fluid and non-binary. The format of the performances oscillates between workshop, play and ritual, inviting the audience to become part of a multi-layered experience.

Darja Linder

Darja Linder Selbstporträt - Darja Linder

Darja Linder Selbstporträt - Darja Linder

Darja Linder Selbstporträt - Darja Linder

Darja Linder (*1992 in Thälmanskij/Russia) lives and works in Saarbrücken. Her work focuses on interacting with people and telling individual stories. She creates visual worlds that not only do justice to the person portrayed, but also address social and identity-political issues. She works predominantly as a painter, although she also uses other media to approach people and their stories: she writes, records conversations and takes photographs.

Hannah Mevis

Bibliothek, Hannah Mevis - Agnes Müller

Bibliothek, Hannah Mevis - Agnes Müller

Bibliothek, Hannah Mevis - Agnes Müller

Darja Linder has selected Hannah Mevis. Hannah Mevis (*1989 in Heidelberg/Germany) lives and works in Saarbrücken and Brussels. In her work, she explores the possibilities of visualizing physical perception and addressing it in the context of historical and socio-political events. She works contextually and conceptually, unbound by a specific medium, but always with an interest in the physical experiences of the viewer and likes to create situations in which people can get involved.

Artmix

Eine neue Ausgabe von Artmix, dem Austauschprogramm mit Luxemburg, hat begonnen! Vom 2. Mai bis 26. Mai 2024 wird die Ausstellung von Noé Duboutay, Darja Linder, Hannah Mevis und Sophia Lökenhoff in der Stadtgalerie zu sehen sein. 

GOSSIP matters hard to grasp

Speisen auf einem Tisch - Hannah Mevis und Noé Duboutay

Speisen auf einem Tisch - Hannah Mevis und Noé Duboutay

Speisen auf einem Tisch - Hannah Mevis und Noé Duboutay

Artmix-Doppelausstellung von Noé Duboutay (er/they), Darja Linder (sie/ihr), Sophia Lökenhoff (they/them), und Hannah Mevis (sie/ihr)

Bis zum 14. Jahrhundert war "I'm going out with my gossip" (ich gehe mit meiner vertrauten Begleitung aus) eine herkömmliche Aussage von überwiegend weiblich gelesenen und weiblich sozialisierten Personen, um zu beschreiben, dass sie sich mit vertrauten Menschen treffen wollten. Im Kontext der damaligen Zeit bezeichnete "Klatsch" nicht nur Freund*innen, sondern allgemein Menschen, die Weisheit(en) teilten. Die Gossips waren auch für die mündliche Weitergabe von Geschichten zuständig und leisteten damit einen wichtigen Beitrag zum Wohlergehen der Gemeinschaft.

Mit dem Aufkommen des Kapitalismus und der damit verbundenen Abwertung des Wissens weiblich gelesenen Personen veränderte sich die Bedeutung des Wortes in Richtung informelles Geschwätz. Heute verkörpert der Begriff nach wie vor die negative Konnotation und die damit verbundene Abwertung von "weiblichen" Wissenssystemen und Tätigkeiten.

Im Sinne der ursprünglichen Bedeutung entwickeln die vier Artmix-Künstler*innen Noé Duboutay (*1995 in Luxemburg; lebt und arbeitet zwischen Berlin und Luxemburg), Darja Linder (*1992 in Thälmanskij/Russland; lebt und arbeitet in Saarbrücken), Sophia Lökenhoff (*1989 in Essen/Deutschland; lebt und arbeitet in Berlin) und Hannah Mevis (*1989 in Heidelberg/Deutschland; lebt und arbeitet zwischen Saarbrücken und Brüssel) eine Doppelausstellung, in deren Mittelpunkt die Verflechtung von Erinnerungen und der politische Akt des Wissensaustauschs stehen:

“Wir sind Künstler*innen, Freund*innen und vertraute Gossips, die sich mit persönlichen Hintergründen und Erfahrungen, Körperlichkeiten und Blickpunkten auseinandersetzen. Im kollektiven Widerwillen, sich festgefahrenen Denkmustern zu fügen, suchen wir nach diversen Gegenpositionen, die uns den Kenntnissen vergessener Welten näher bringen. Wir laden dazu ein, unsere (Ver-)Sammlungen mitzuerleben und in schwer greifbare Materien einzutauchen.”

Eröffnungen der Doppelausstellungen:
2. Mai 2024 Stadtgalerie Saarbrücken (bis 26. Mai)
3. Mai 2024 Cerlé Cite Luxembourg (bis 30. Juni)

Artmix ist ein Austauschprogramm von den Städten Saarbrücken und Luxemburg. Die Kooperationspartner*innen des Projekts sind die Stadtgalerie Saarbrücken und aus Luxemburg das Cercle Cité, Neimënster, sowie Casino Display. Für die aktuelle Ausgabe entschied sich die Jury für die Künstler*innen Noé Duboutay (er/they) für Luxemburg und Darja Linder (sie/ihr) für Saarbrücken. Noé entschied sich, Sophia Lökenhoff (they/Them)  in das Team aufzunehmen und Darja wählte Hannah Mevis aus (sie/ihr).

Mehr über Artmix

Vom 19. Februar bis 11. März sind vier Künstler*innen im Rahmen des Austauschprogramms Artmix mit Luxemburg in der Stadtgalerie zu Gast. Die Jury hat sich zu dieser Ausgabe für Noé Duboutay (they/he) (LUX) und Darja Linder (DE) entschieden. Die beiden ausgewählten Künstler*innen durften jeweils eine*n weitere*n Künstler*in einladen. Dabei ist Noé Duboutays Wahl auf Sophia Lökenhoff (they/them) gefallen und Darja Linder nimmt Hannah Mevis mit in das neue Artmix-Künstler*innen-Team.

Gemeinsam entwickelt die Gruppe eine Ausstellung während des gemeinsamen Aufenthalts in Form einer Residenz in Luxemburg und Saarbrücken. Die Einrichtung eines offenen Ateliers oder Workshops ergänzt das Projekt. Während des Austauschs arbeiten die Teilnehmenden im Dezember 2023 drei Wochen gemeinsam in Luxemburg (Kulturzentrum Abtei Neumünster) und nun im Februar/März 2024 drei Wochen in Saarbrücken (Stadtgalerie Saarbrücken).

Die Ausstellungen finden vom 2. Mai bis 26. Mai 2024 in der Stadtgalerie Saarbrücken und vom 3. Mai bis 30. Juni 2024 im Cercle Cité in Luxemburg statt. Das Casino Display ist Netzwerkpartner.

Nachdem das Projekt Artmix aufgrund der Pandemie vorübergehend eingestellt wurde (11. Ausgabe: 2019), ist es 2023 mit neuen Partner*innen in Luxemburg zurück. Das seit 2005 bestehende Projekt verbindet Künstler*innen aus der Großregion miteinander. Ziel ist es, die regionale Vernetzung benachbarter Kunstszenen und verschiedener Fachbereiche zu fördern. Dabei sollen neue Formen der Zusammenarbeit und Professionalisierung ermöglicht werden.

Artmix ist ein Austauschprogramm von den Städten Saarbrücken und Luxemburg. Die Kooperationspartner*innen des Projekts sind die Stadtgalerie Saarbrücken und aus Luxemburg das Cercle Cité, Neimënster, sowie Casino Display.

Begründung der Jury

Die ausgewählten Teilnehmer*innen sind in ihrer Bewerbung auf das offene Artmix Konzept auf eine inhaltlich stark überzeugende Art und Weise eingegangen. Die beiden Künstler*innen arbeiten mit sehr verschiedenen Medien. Gleichzeitig resonieren nicht nur ihre ausdrucksstarke und gegenwärtige Ästhetik, sondern auch ihre aufgegriffenen Themen wie Identität und gesellschaftliche Normen miteinander. 

Alle Teilnehmer*innen befinden sich zurzeit am Anfang ihrer Karriere und können sich durch das Projekt Artmix weiter professionalisieren. Laut Jury überzeugen die sehr unterschiedlichen künstlerischen Positionen durch ihre Auseinandersetzung mit aktuell gesellschaftspolitischen Themen und ihren ästhetischen Dimensionen.

Noé Duboutay

Selbstporträt Noé Duboutay - Noé Duboutay

Selbstporträt Noé Duboutay - Noé Duboutay

Selbstporträt Noé Duboutay - Noé Duboutay

Noé Duboutay (*1995 in Luxemburg) ist ein in Berlin und Luxemburg lebender Performancekünstler und Autor. Er performt mit seinem Körper und seiner Stimme, macht Installationen und Requisiten und schreibt Skripte, Gedichte und Prosa. Dabei erforscht er die Verstrickungen menschlicher Identitäten mit nicht-menschlichen Entitäten und Materialitäten. Noé Duboutays künstlerische Praxis bewegt sich im Spannungsfeld von Körpererfahrungen und Verkörperungsformen, die hinterfragen, was einen Körper lesbar macht. Durch fiktive und autobiografische Welten des Schreibens und Bewegens schafft Noé Duboutay Wege, queere Verbindungen, Verbündete und Verwandtschaften zu finden und schafft Raum für fragile Unsicherheit und Weichheit.

Sophia Lökenhoff

Sophia Lökenhoff - Lexi Schnäbele

Sophia Lökenhoff - Lexi Schnäbele

Sophia Lökenhoff - Lexi Schnäbele

Noé Duboutay hat Sophia Lökenhoff ausgewählt. Sophia Lökenhoff (*1989 in Essen/Deutschland), ein*e transdisziplinäre Performance-Künstler*in aus Berlin, schafft immersive Performances, die sich mit Körpern, Zeitdimensionen, Räumen, Objekten, Klängen und deren Beziehung zum Unsichtbaren beschäftigen. Seit 2020 arbeitet Sophia Lökenhoff an einem fortlaufenden Performancezyklus, der die Übergänge einer fabulierten Figur namens IAGA erkundet. IAGA koexistiert in Sympoiesis mit und durch viele Körper und erforscht die Überbleibsel der dreifachen femme Gottheiten in zeitgenössischen Wissenssystemen. Besonderer Fokus liegt auf der Regeneration der magischen Sphäre als queer, gender-fluid und nicht-binär. Das Format der Performances oszilliert zwischen Workshop, Spiel und Ritual, und lädt das Publikum ein, Teil einer vielschichtigen Erfahrung zu werden.

Darja Linder

Darja Linder Selbstporträt - Darja Linder

Darja Linder Selbstporträt - Darja Linder

Darja Linder Selbstporträt - Darja Linder

Darja Linder (*1992 in Thälmanskij/Russland) lebt und arbeitet in Saarbrücken. Ihre Arbeit konzentriert sich auf die Interaktion mit Menschen und auf das Erzählen individueller Geschichten. Sie erschafft Bildwelten, die nicht nur der porträtierten Person gerecht werden, sondern auch soziale und identitätspolitische Themen ansprechen. Sie arbeitet überwiegend malerisch, wobei sie auch andere Medien nutzt, um sich den Menschen und ihren Geschichten anzunähern: Sie schreibt, zeichnet Gespräche auf und fotografiert.

Hannah Mevis

Bibliothek, Hannah Mevis - Agnes Müller

Bibliothek, Hannah Mevis - Agnes Müller

Bibliothek, Hannah Mevis - Agnes Müller

Darja Linder hat Hannah Mevis ausgewählt. Hannah Mevis (*1989 in Heidelberg/Deutschland) lebt und arbeitet in Saarbrücken und Brüssel. In ihrer Arbeit beschäftigt sie sich mit den Möglichkeiten, körperliche Wahrnehmung zu visualisieren und im Kontext von geschichtlichen und sozialpolitischen Geschehnissen zu adressieren. Sie arbeitet kontextuell und konzeptionell, ungebunden von einem bestimmten Medium, dafür immer mit dem Interesse an den körperlichen Erfahrungen der Betrachter*innen und kreiert gerne Situationen, in denen sich Menschen mit einbringen können.

Das Projekt Artmix wird unterstützt vom Ministerium für Bildung und Kultur und Saartoto